Skip to content

Puckinflight

An all things aviation blog

Yesterday, I wrote about how an airline choses to end service. But how does an airline chose to start service? Well with most airlines new service comes from one the airline’s hubs to a new city. Evaluation of a new potential route involves evaluating potential traffic between the two cities, connecting traffic, economic factors, equipment and local issues. I am sure there is a lot more that goes into it, but that is the basic overview. What I didn’t know is that airlines can and do “crowdsource” new routes.

Today I found the website www.routesonline.com. The website is a b2b site that matches airlines with airports. Airlines can submit a RFP to the site and if there is an airport that wants that service they can put in bid for it. The same is true for the airport. If they want service they can put a proposal for service and any incentives they will offer and airlines can reach out to them. I never really thought the internet would be used for this purpose, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. The internet is used for everything these days.

Happy Flying!

Colpuck

Tags:

